Latest News

PFA Player & Young Player of the Year Awards

Cristiano Ronaldo

Manchester United dominates this year’s nominations for The Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year Award with Steven Gerrard the only non United player in the running for the prestigious gong.

The Liverpool captain is joined on the shortlist by United’s Rio Ferdinand, Ryan Giggs, Cristiano Ronaldo, Edwin van der Sar and Nemanja Vidic.

It is thought that Vidic and Giggs will be among the front runners to take the title but Gerrard could benefit from a split vote for United players as David Ginola did during their 1999 treble-winning season.

Giggs has never won the award in a glittering career that has seen him become the most decorated player in the English games, whereas Ronaldo could become the first player to win it three years in a row.

The World Champions also have Jonny Evans and Rafael Da Silva amongst the nominations for the Young Player Award. Also in contention are Aston Villa duo Gabriel Agbonlahor and Ashley Young, while Aaron Lennon and Stephen Ireland complete the list of nominees.

After a superb season for Manchester City, Ireland is favourite to succeed Arsenal’s Cesc Fabregas as the country’s top youngster. Agbonlahor and Young have both impressed for Aston Villa, while Tottenham winger Lennon has also caught the eye.

All Awards will be presented at a glitzy bash at the Grosvenor House Hotel on Sunday 26th April. The nominations in full are:

PFA Player of the Year Award:

  • Rio Ferdinand (Man Utd)
  • Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)
  • Ryan Giggs (Man Utd)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Man Utd)
  • Edwin van der Sar (Man Utd)
  • Nemanja Vidic (Man Utd)

PFA Young Player of the Year Award:

  • Gabriel Agbonlahor (Aston Villa)
  • Rafael Da Silva (Man Utd)
  • Jonny Evans (Man Utd)
  • Stephen Ireland (Man City)
  • Aaron Lennon (Tottenham)
  • Ashley Young (Aston Villa)

See how close your opinions match up with the Professional’s and vote for the winners on the LFE Poll. Scroll down the page (on the right) and have your say.

Other General News

Tonge Delighted That 'Long Road' Rewarded With Pro Posh Deal

Tonge Delighted That ‘Long Road’ Rewarded With Pro Posh Deal

Second-year Apprentice Oscar Tonge expressed his delight upon securing his first professional contract with League One outfit Peterborough United. Described..

General News
Bright Commits Future To County

Bright Commits Future To County

Second-year apprentice Harrison Bright has signed his first professional contract with Newport County, just days after making his EFL debut..

General News
Bristol Rovers Offer Academy Duo Pro Deals

Bristol Rovers Offer Academy Duo Pro Deals

Bristol Rovers have announced that second-year apprentices Harvey Greenslade and Jamie Egan have signed their first professional contracts. Striker Greenslade,..

General News