Latest News

PFA Player of the Year 2010

Wayne Rooney has been installed as the overwhelming favourite to land the PFA Player of the Year award following the release of the nominations short-list today.

The Manchester United star has been in irresistible form this term and his 34 goals for the Red Devils has seen him talked about in the same bracket as Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Should Rooney win the prestigious award, it would be the fourth time on the trot a member of the Old Trafford camp had received the accolade, following on from Ryan Giggs last year and Cristiano Ronaldo, who was Player of the Year in the two seasons before that.

Rooney’s competition comes in the form of three other main contenders with usual six-man shortlist trimmed to four.

Arsenal skipper Cesc Fabregas, Manchester City forward Carlos Tevez and Chelsea hit-man Didier Drogba.

Fabregas is widely credited as being the fulcrum of the Gunners title challenge that until last night’s defeat at Tottenham was still on course to push Chelsea to the finishing line.

Manchester City’s emergence as a Premier League force is confirmed by the presence of Carlos Tevez, who has been such a pivotal figure for the Blues since his controversial summer move from neighbours United.

As champions-elect, Chelsea were bound to have a representative, and while he might not have hit the heights as consistently as in other years, Didier Drogba’s goals ensured the Stamford Bridge outfit came through their rocky patch and are now in line to become only the seventh team to land the domestic double.

City also have a representative for the Young Player prize, although in Joe Hart’s case that has only happened following a successful loan move to Birmingham.

Aston Villa’s James Milner is also on that list, testament to his outstanding form for Martin O’Neill’s men, which seems certain to earn him a place in Fabio Capello’s England World Cup squad.

However, Hart and Milner may face a tough task to claim the Young Player prize with both Rooney and Fabregas also in the running for the award after being named on both shortlists.

All awards will be presented at a glitzy bash at the Grosvenor House Hotel on Sunday 25th April. The nominations in full are:

PFA Player of the Year Award:

  • Wayne Rooney (Man Utd)
  • Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal)
  • Carlos Tevez (Man City)
  • Didier Drogba (Chelsea)

Other Announcements

Fourteen EFL Clubs Primed For Pre-Season European Trip

Fourteen EFL Clubs Primed For Pre-Season European Trip

Academy players at 14 EFL Clubs will travel to Italy, Spain or the Netherlands on Sunday as part of a pre-season trip organised by League Football Education…

Announcements General News Pre-Season
Goal of the Season Winner | 2021/22

Goal of the Season Winner | 2021/22

LFE is pleased to announce that Lincoln City’s Oisin Gallagher is the winner of the 2021/2022 LFE Goal of the Season..

Announcements Celebrating Success General News
Job Opportunity: Media Officer

Job Opportunity: Media Officer

Media Officer – Preston based full-time (hybrid), permanent League Football Education (LFE) is looking for a Media Officer who can..

Announcements General News