Latest News

England Youth Squads Include 24 Current or Former Apprentices

England Youth Squads Include 24 Current or Former Apprentices

LFE apprentices past and present are well represented in the most recent England squads, with 24 players making the cut in the Three Lions youth teams.

Of the four squads announced, four players were selected for the Under-18s, four will be involved in the Under-20 set-up, while the Under-19s and 21s involve eight each.

Current apprentices include Billy Crellin (Fleetwood Town), Matt O’Riley (Fulham), Danny Loader (Reading) and Steven Sessegnon (Fulham), who all made the Under-18 list, while Tristan Nydam (Ipswich Town) and Ryan Schofield (Huddersfield Town) will represent the Under-19s.

Luton Town academy graduate James Justin, who featured in LFE’s ‘The 11’ in February 2016, has been selected for the Under-20s for the first time as he awaits a debut for any age group at international level.

Elsewhere, Toulon Tournament winners George Hirst (Sheffield Wednesday) and Josh Tymon (formerly of Hull City) have been named in the Under-19 side, while Nottingham Forest defender Joe Worrall, who captained the triumphant team, has received an Under-21 call-up.

Four members of England’s Under-20 World Cup winning team have also earned places in the Under-21 squad – Dominic Calvert-Lewin (formerly of Sheffield United), Lewis Cook (formerly of Leeds United), Dael Fry (Middlesbrough) and Ademola Lookman (formerly of Charlton Athletic).

Gareth Southgate’s senior England squad also featured a number of former apprentices, most notably a first inclusion for Leicester City summer signing Harry Maguire, who began his career at Sheffield United.

Here’s the full list of current and former apprentices to receive a call-up for the various England age groups:

England Under-18s

Josef Bursik – Stoke City (formerly of AFC Wimbledon)
Billy Crellin – Fleetwood Town
Danny Loader – Reading
Matt O’Riley – Fulham
Steven Sessegnon – Fulham

England Under-19s

Ellery Balcombe – Brentford
Ben Brereton – Nottingham Forest
Flynn Downes – Ipswich Town
George Hirst – Sheffield Wednesday
Tristan Nydam – Ipswich Town
Ryan Schofield – Huddersfield Town
Jake Turner – Bolton Wanderers
Josh Tymon – Stoke City (formerly of Hull City)

England Under-20s

Tayo Edun – Fulham
James Justin – Luton Town
Aaron RamsdaleAFC Bournemouth (formerly of Sheffield United)
Lloyd Kelly – Bristol City

England Under-21s

Dominic Calvert-Lewin – Everton (formerly of Sheffield United)
Lewis CookAFC Bournemouth (formerly of Leeds United)
Dael Fry – Middlesbrough
Joe Gomez – Liverpool (formerly of Charlton Athletic)
Demarai Gray – Leicester City (formerly of Birmingham City)
Mason Holgate – Everton (formerly of Barnsley)
Ademola Lookman – Everton (formerly of Charlton Athletic)
Joe Worrall – Nottingham Forest

Other General News

LFE Learner of the Term Winner | January - April 2024

LFE Learner of the Term Winner | January – April 2024

LFE’s Learner of the Term celebrates the efforts of students who have made excellent academic progress and a positive contribution..

Celebrating Success General News Study Programme
The 11 - May 2024 (in-depth)

The 11 – May 2024 (in-depth)

Let’s take a closer look at ‘The 11’ for May 2024 and find out why each apprentice was included… Charlie..

Celebrating Success General News
The 11 - May 2024

The 11 – May 2024

League Football Education has recognised eleven Under-18s footballers for their outstanding efforts on and off the pitch in the latest..

Celebrating Success General News