Goal of the Month - December 2018

By: Jack Wylie |
09/01/19 |

It’s time for LFE’s Goal of the Month competition once again, with eight superb strikes from across the Academy leagues during December.

The candidates are vying for a place in the 2018-19 Goal of the Season alongside previous winners Bradley Webb (Bristol City), Owen James (Oxford United) and Bolton Wanderers pair Luca Connell and Callum King-Harmes.

A couple of volleys get things up and running, with Stevenage first-year apprentice Liam Smyth lashing home in the FA Youth Cup, while Connor Heath contributed to a league victory for Crewe Alexandra with a terrific effort on the turn from the edge of the area.

More Youth Cup strikes follow, including Millwall Under-18s captain Billy Mitchell’s stunning hit from distance to take the lead against Tottenham Hotspur, as well as Armelindo Mema’s composed finish for QPR in extra-time after a slick team move. Divin Baningime also produced a magnificent goal in the competition as his emphatic volley found the top corner with pinpoint accuracy to send Wigan Athletic through to the fourth round.

Elsewhere, Forest Green Rovers second-year forward Jay Malshanskyj expertly lobbed the keeper, while 16-year-old Lewis Farmer (Sheffield Wednesday) showed tremendous footwork before smashing a left-footed effort into the back of the net.

And there is another Goal of the Month appearance from Cambridge United’s Ben Worman, whose strike from range earned him a second nomination having previously featured in January 2018.

The Shortlist:

  • Liam Smyth, STEVENAGE v Bury #LFEGOALA
  • Connor Heath, CREWE ALEXANDRA v Sheffield United #LFEGOALB
  • Armelindo Mema, QPR v Rochdale #LFEGOALC
  • Billy Mitchell, MILLWALL v Tottenham Hotspur #LFEGOALD
  • Jay Malshanskyj, FOREST GREEN ROVERS v Exeter City #LFEGOALE
  • Lewis Farmer, SHEFFIELD WEDNESDAY v Stoke City #LFEGOALF
  • Divin Baningime, WIGAN ATHLETIC v Wolverhampton Wanderers #LFEGOALG
  • Ben Worman, CAMBRIDGE UNITED v Peterborough United #LFEGOALH

Voting will remain open until noon on 16 January. You can vote for your favourite goal via our online poll or via Twitter using the hashtag attached to each goal.