Former Apprentices Lift The Checkatrade Trophy

By: Jack Wylie |
09/04/18 |

Six former apprentices featured for Lincoln City as they saw off Sky Bet League One promotion hopefuls Shrewsbury Town to win the Checkatrade Trophy in front of over 40,000 fans at Wembley Stadium.

Elliott Whitehouse, a graduate of Sheffield United’s academy, netted the only goal of the game in the 16th minute and was later awarded man of the match after an impressive all-round display.

Elsewhere, Luke Habergham (formerly of Norwich City), Luke Waterfall (formerly of Barnsley), Neal Eardley (formerly of Oldham Athletic) and Alex Woodyard (formerly of Southend United) all started for the Imps, while former Crawley Town apprentice Harry Anderson was introduced off the bench.

Lincoln manager Danny Cowley also included a current second-year apprentice Declan O’Hare in his matchday squad, although he remained an unused substitute.

Meanwhile, four past apprentices were on the losing side, with 2016 LFE League Two Apprentice of the Year Ben Godfrey (formerly of York City), Omar Beckles (formerly of Millwall), James Bolton (formerly of Macclesfield Town) and 2014 LFE Championship Apprentice of the Year nominee Bryn Morris (formerly of Middlesbrough) all coming up short for the Shrews.

Following the conclusion of the competition, the 2017-18 Checkatrade Trophy Team of the Tournament was revealed, with four former apprentices included.

Checkatrade Trophy 2017-18 winners

  • Alex Woodyard (formerly of Southend United)
  • Declan O’Hare (Lincoln City)
  • Elliott Whitehouse (formerly of Sheffield United)
  • Harry Anderson (formerly of Crawley Town)
  • Luke Habergham (formerly of Norwich City)
  • Luke Waterfall (formerly of Barnsley)
  • Neal Eardley (formerly of Oldham Athletic)

Checkatrade Trophy Team of the Tournament 2017-18

  • Omar Beckles (Shrewsbury Town – formerly of Millwall)
  • Tom James (Yeovil Town – formerly of Cardiff City)
  • Elliott Whitehouse (Lincoln City – formerly of Sheffield United)
  • Wes Burns (Fleetwood Town – formerly of Bristol City)