Goal of the Season 2011-12

By: Elaine Brand |
29/05/12 |

As a culmination of a fantastic 2011-12 season in both Youth Alliance and Academy Leagues, LFE is proud to present our Goal of the Season contenders.

This season’s eight man shortlist is dominated by players from Portsmouth, Sheffield Wednesday and Southend United with each Club having two players in contention.

Bristol City’s Elan Gordon and Millwall’s Conor Wilkinson are the only players to feature not from that trio of Clubs.

Each player involved has been an individual winner of the monthly competition. They will now battle it out to win the second ever Goal of the Season award for Apprentice players.

Leeds United’s Charlie Taylor was the inaugural winner of this award last year.

The full list of contenders for the final contest is:

  • GOAL A: Elan Gordon, Stoke City v BRISTOL CITY
  • GOAL B: Ashley Harris, PORTSMOUTH v MK Dons
  • GOAL C: Jack Payne, SOUTHEND UNITED v Dagenham & Redbridge
  • GOAL D: Conor Wilkinson, MILLWALL v Gillingham
  • GOAL E: Ryan Auger, Colchester United v SOUTHEND UNITED
  • GOAL F: James Jennings, PORTSMOUTH v Fulham
  • GOAL G: Tom Rowbotham, SHEFFIELD WEDNESDAY v Middlesbrough
  • GOAL H: Jarrod Kyle, SHEFFIELD WEDNESDAY v Sheffield United

Voting will remain open until 5pm on Tuesday 5 June.